Club Directors

Feffie Barnhill

Recruitment & Curriculum Director

The Greene Turtle Story

The Greene Turtle Lacrosse Club was originally founded in Baltimore by Billy and Jill Packo almost 30 years ago.  The Greene Turtle name quickly became synonymous with lacrosse and the club had some of the best post collegiate lacrosse players in the country, including Team USA players as well as current ESPN Commentator and Johns Hopkins alumnus, Quint Kessenich.  A demand for youth teams led to the establishment of several boys' teams which have competed on a national basis, with players regularly feeding the top college programs in the country.

A desire to form a strong, local program in the Wilmington area and a relationship with the Turtle team led to the development of the Delaware program in 2016.  The Towson Greene Turtle team, led by longtime Loyola men's assistant coach Steve Vaikness, had two demands for the Delaware chapter: Great fields and great coaches.  Tower Hill, where the Delaware club practices, has arguably the best facilities in the region.  Our coaches represent some of the top programs in the area including: Salesianum, Tower Hill, Ursuline, Archmere, Friends, Padua, Tatnall, and Strathaven.  Our coaches played or coached at schools such as Maryland, Virginia, Delaware, Harvard, Penn State, Bucknell, Washington College, William & Mary, Cornell, and UMBC, among others.

The goal for the club is to create a competitive, sustainable, local club program by working with great families to help them develop their young athletes to become the best lacrosse players they can become.  We focus on player skill development, a team-oriented style of play, and excellent sportsmanship on and off the field.

Congrats Coach Barnhill on Spirit of Tewaarton Award

Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 10.47.10 AM

CONGRATULATIONS to our Director of Curriculum and Recruiting Feffie Barnhill on winning the Tewaarton Spirit award.

WASHINGTON, January 11 – The Tewaaraton Foundation is pleased to announce the 2019 Tewaaraton Spirit Award.

The Spirit of Tewaaraton is presented to an individual who has contributed to the sport of lacrosse in a way that reflects the spirit of the values and mission of the Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Legends Award annually honors recipients who played college lacrosse prior to 2001, the first year in which the Tewaaraton Award was presented.

Spirit honoree Barnhill has truly done it all in the lacrosse world. After a successful playing career earning 15 letters at Ursinus College, she’s led high school (Ursuline Academy), college (William & Mary) and national teams (Team USA, Team Scotland), served on the US Lacrosse Board of Directors and also was the first vice president of the United States Women’s Lacrosse Association.

This US Lacrosse Hall of Fame inductee has played a major role in the growth of international lacrosse through leadership positions with the Federation of International Lacrosse, which honored her with its lifetime achievement award in 2009. She served as the chair of the Selection Committee for the Tewaaraton Award for seven years.

“One would be hard-pressed to find a time when Feffie didn't assist them or respond to any request for her help or their need for her advice or leadership in any endeavor, be it on or off the field,” said legendary coach Sue Stahl. “Feffie has generously given of her time to the game and people in lacrosse. Her influence is widespread and felt in lacrosse throughout the world. Her travel worldwide to advance lacrosse is renowned. Feffie is so deserving of the 2019 Spirit of Tewaaraton Award and I am excited and proud to see someone so deserving be honored in this way."

Past Spirit of Tewaaraton recipients include Dick Edell, Diane Geppi-Aikens, Sid Jamieson, A.B. “Buzzy” Krongard, Roy Simmons Jr., Richie Moran, Bob Scott, Brendan Looney, Oren Lyons, Tina Sloan Green, George Boiardi and Welles Crowther.
All three recipients will receive their awards at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony May 30th, 2019, in Washington, D.C.

Screen Shot 2018-11-17 at 6.11.54 AM